Two Members of LRF's Scientific Advisory Board Become Principal Investigators in an $11.5 Million Lymphoma SPORE Grant

LRF is very proud to announce that the Chairman of our Scientific Advisory Board (SAB), Richard I. Fisher, MD, Director of the University of Rochester James P. Wilmot Cancer Center and SAB member, Thomas P. Miller, MD, Director of the Arizona Cancer Center are principal investigators for an $11.5 million lymphoma research SPORE grant from the National Cancer Institute. 

The other principal investigator is Steven Grant, MD, Associate Director of Transitional Research at the Massey Center.  SAB member, Jonathan Friedberg, MD Assistant Professor of Hematology and Oncology at the University of Rochester James P. Wilmot Cancer Center will work closely with Dr. Grant and his colleagues to improve the effectiveness of the proteasome inhibitor bortexomib (Velcade).

The highly-competitive, five-year Specialized Program of Research Excellence or SPORE grant will fuel transitional research projects designed to quickly advance findings from the laboratory to clinical settings to improve care and find cures.

There are only four other centers with lymphoma SPORE grants including Johns Hopkins University, The University of Iowa, City of Hope and Baylor College of Medicine.